Shhhhh!

Apologies for the two-week hiatus – it’s that Argh-Panic time of year again when, having spent several weeks casually sketching fripperies such as new Christmas card designs and impish fairy folk (largely for my own amusement, if I’m pressed to absolute honesty…), I awake to the blood-chilling realisation that I have a mere trice in which to conjure a quintet of brilliant illustrations from the ether for submission to the Bologna Children’s Book Fair Illustrators Exhibition and, thus, secure my admission for the 2012 Fair. The merciful bubble of reprieve bestowed by the illustratori administrators, taking the form of an 8-week extension to the published September deadline on account of my SCBWI membership, again imploded with a burst of soapy (bear with me…), time-evaporating incredulity: ‘Pardonmewhat?! You’ve squandered this fantastically generous, almost-two-months-shaped gift that might have been used for luxurious vacillation, roughing-out, re-drafting, final drawing, watercolouring of five, potentially exquisite, prize-winning (OK, spectacularly unlikely – but any self-respecting internal-berating-voice must assume maximum cause for indignation)Ā again?!!’ Yes, unbelievable but – alas – almost entirely true (though I would plead a smattering of mitigating factors this year).

So, having sauntered in a distinctly leisurely fashion towards the objective, I’m now committed to a lung-exploding, leg-blurring sprint finish if Royal Mail are to have any chance of delivering my offering to the feet of the adjudicating panel by next Friday…

All of which sorry excuse for an…er…excuse, has motivated the inclusion of an illustration from the archives* for this week’s Illustration Friday entry on the theme of silent (although, as everyone – with the exception of this little tot – knows, however silently & stealthily you might approach a slumbering Jack-in-the-Box, it’ll always scare the bejeesus out of you when the latch is flipped…):

*Please excuse the fact that all the components of this composition appear to be hovering in the ether without the comfort of a little ground beneath their collective feet (it was conceived as a design to be ‘cut-out’ and used on a digital background as part of some promotional material).

About illustratedbyamanda

Illustrator and time-fritterer extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Illustration Friday, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shhhhh!

  1. Cindy D. says:

    Haha, oh dear. I’ve been known to suffer a teeny bit of procrastination (accidentally and otherwise) myself. Another adorable drawing! I think the indignant mouse, his book-reading rudely interrupted, is my favorite part. Also those great striped tights. So cute!

    As for your looming deadline and the need for a leg-blurring sprint finish, I’m certain you’re up to the task! Perhaps you’ve done this subconsciously, knowing you do some of your best work in panic mode.

    • Haha! Thanks Cindy – you really are too kind. Striped tights are one of my very favourite things, a current bugbear being that the range of adult sizes available in my local high street falls pitifully short of the abundant selection available to little girls!

      And let’s hope you’re right about the motivating effects of panic mode: nothing like a healthy dosing of fear to hone the mind (and pencil)! šŸ™‚ x

  2. Adorable. I love the striped tights too. You have such a great technique. I’d love to see how you do it šŸ™‚

    • Ah, thank you Hannah! I’m not sure my technique (*ahem*) would impress you much – I’ve just had a wander through your Picture Garden and your work is really beautiful! This week’s IF entry is truly amazing: the wonderful, fractal quality of the watercolours really conjures the deep sea depths and it’s an inspired interpretation of the ‘silent’ topic – brilliant!

Leave a Reply

