Playing with pencils

I had plans to participate in a v. exciting illustration competition but, alas, events (well, the passage of time, mainly…) have conspired against me completing the artwork briefed – to a standard I’d be happy to submit – within the allotted time frame, so I’ve decided to share what I’ve managed to cobble together so far and use this as a sketch-shaped springboard into my 5-piece 2013 Bologna Illustrators’s Exhibition entry. There’s still quite a lot of development work to be done here, but as a beginning I’m quite fond of a couple of these characters (and – inspired by my time at Bright [and the incidental but v. generous mentoring of the brilliant agents there] – am eager to see what I can do to make them grow!) :

A handful of Little Red Riding Hoods, a Slanket-wearing Granny, and a scheming wolf

Mischievous wolf, and wolf-engaging-in-a-little-light-deception (in view of a Little Red Riding Hood)

About illustratedbyamanda

Illustrator and time-fritterer extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playing with pencils

  1. Ragne says:

    wow…your drawings are badass. When is the first book coming out?

  2. Cindy D. says:

    Love the sketches, particularly the top set that seem to be more finished with shading and things, especially the wolf, such great detail and a seriously sly look! The granny and little girl are terrific characters – lots of personality!

    And thank you for your kind comment about my new stuff from the previous post. I’ve actually been spending much more time in the sketching phase than I used to – amazing how much difference taking more time makes! (But still avoiding hands and feet. And complicated poses. Well… full bodies at all lol.)

Leave a Reply

