Two spoonfuls…

Continuing on a ‘festive victuals’ theme (and swiftly glossing over the non-appearance of a post for yesterday – I was still operating remotely until 9.30pm so would plead absence of reliable blog-posting facilities, although I feel the most cursory of probings into this story may reveal some fairly moth-eaten patches of accuracy…), I thought I’d draw inspiration from my weekend visit to the world-famous (well, certainly pretty well-known) Frankfurt Christmas Market in Birmingham and the myriad purveyors of German – and distinctly non (‘Eine chow mien, bitte’…?!) – delicacies. (I am offering double helpings, to cover both yesterday and today…):

The bratwurst smelt a-m-a-z-i-n-g, but catching sight of a small child being presented with one – hanging perilously out of its bun some considerably way on either side – and the rather stumped look this engendered (where to start…?!), I thought a paper cone of deliciously charred roast chestnuts might be the more dignified option.

The bratwurst smelt a-m-a-z-i-n-g, but catching sight of a small child being presented with one – hanging perilously out of its bun some considerably way on either side – and the rather stumped look this engendered (where to start…?!), I thought a paper cone of deliciously charred roast chestnuts might be the more dignified option.

After a long afternoon’s elbowing through the gluhwein-emboldened hordes churning around the city centre, my friend and I wove our way back – very slowly – towards her flat,  our progress seriously impeded by a massive influx of concertedly festive Brummies who’d just finished work and were launching themselves into the Christmas festivities with a vengeance (and many steiners of German beer). These two (what I’m, probably unfairly, assuming) secretaries were obviously catching up on some seriously salacious gossip – nothing particularly noteworthy there – but the incongruity of their beverages juxtaposed with their polished, office-chic ensembles caught my eye…

10-gossip

About illustratedbyamanda

Illustrator and time-fritterer extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two spoonfuls…

  1. Cindy D. says:

    Haha, great characters! I suspect the one on the right is a bit of a drama queen. (Or perhaps you’ve just made her look like one!) Also, I first read that your passage through the crowd was impeded by festive Bunnies. I might like to see that one. 😀

    • Ha ha! I think your first assumption is right (although perhaps it’s a bit uncharitable to cast aspersions on someone I’ve only just taken a passing measure of…), and a Christmas Market inundated with marauding festive Bunnies would *certainly* have warranted an illustration – perhaps I’ll get around to conjuring an ‘alternative’ report of the Market over the weekend 😉

  2. Cindy D. says:

    As for the one above, another cutie pie! But it’s true, there’s nothing dignified about a hotdog, particularly one of this length. My misunderstanding in this instance was a picture of a girl with her oversized “frankfurter” (do you call hotdogs that over there?), and the “Frankfort” Christmas Market. I could not understand a Christmas Market devoted to hot dogs. 🙂

    • Maybe there’s an opening for such an event… Hotdogs – or frankfurters (either works, and seems to be applied as a matter of whim) – ARE very popular, but perhaps this would infringe on Oktoberfest’s territory (Bavarian beer and bratwurst festival held annually in Munich – and now, slightly weirdly, London. Must’ve been the beer element that swung it…). 🙂

  3. The first pic is such a cutie, I never know where to start with those sausages, always get cheese sausage down my coat when I bite into it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

