Running with (The) Raccoons

Just to bring y’all up to speed before I unleash a hopping (my newly-coined collective term… I thank you) of Easter bunnies upon this little corner of t’internet, I thought I’d share a few pages of the last couple of weeks’ pencil twirlings – with apologies to those of you whom may already have suffered this imposition by Facebook and/Twitter… *ahem*.

Seized by Ā a desire to sketch small, preferably bouncing, woodland creatures – for which I blame (entirely) the meteorological tease of Spring last week (and subsequent non-arrival of that self-same season: SNOW today! I ask you…) – but also to avoid, at least initially, the oft-trod Cute illustrative paths signposted ‘mice’ and ‘rabbits’, I turned to my very-well-thumbed ‘Encyclopedia of Animals’ in search of some organism a little more unusual. And lit upon these guys…

raccoonsC

raccoonsA

Just having a little fun with the (curiously un-striped) chap on the bottom left. I think raccoons would like jazz - and not weird, power-ballad-esque pop ('Run With Us' by Lisa Lougheed, anyone...?!)

Just having a little fun with the (curiously un-striped) chap on the bottom left. I think raccoons would like jazz – and not weird New Wave pop (‘Run With Us’ by Lisa Lougheed, anyone…?!)

raccoonsB

A secretive character conjured up for an Illustration Friday challenge a couple of weeks ago ('Whisper')

A secretive character conjured up for an Illustration Friday challenge a couple of weeks ago (‘Whisper’

raccoons1

For a wondrous blast from the (Canadian animated children’s programming) past, click here.

In honour of my little sister’s 2nd wedding anniversary, and – with a resurgence in enthusiasm for greetings cards-appropriate art and design, engendered by my recent (and ongoing) involvement with the art licensing ‘branch’ of BrightĀ – I also flicked to the ‘exotic birds’ chapter (OK – not entirely true: Google Images is so much quicker and more comprehensive for image research…) and had a ‘flutter’ (sorry) with a few lovebirds:

lovebirds_sheet

And a closer look (soft pencil and pastel on planning paper).

And a closer look (soft pencil and pastel on planning paper).

Unfortunately, my pastel method isn’t terribly sophisticated, consisting mainly of shaving coloured pastels directly over the sketch with a scalpel blade and then rubbing in a circular motion with my finger (well, several different fingers, to avoid ending up with a uniformly muddy-brown colour…) within the bounds of the drawing. I have to work on my ‘aim’: pastel dust (or, indeed, any dust) tends to defy any attempt to exert control upon its component particles, so any improvement in the trajectory of the dust ‘fall’ is going to have to come from a marked improvement in my, erm, scraping-and-scattering technique…

Alas, I have missed yet another Illustration Friday challenge (‘Yesterday’) that I had designs upon (pardon the pun), so on to the next: ‘Eye Glasses’ – please come back soon to see what I’ve been able to rustle up to this end between the collection of stolen minutes I manage to accrue over the next few days.

Meanwhile, wishing you all a very happy Sunday evening (hopefully cosied up indoors away from the inhospitable meteorological conditions apparently passing for Spring at the moment…?), and a truly glorious week ahead! šŸ˜‰

AP xx

P.S. Happy St Patrick’s Day! And apologies for the noticeable deficit of leprechaun/other Irish-themed character illustrations in this post.

About illustratedbyamanda

Illustrator and time-fritterer extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Illustration Friday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running with (The) Raccoons

  1. Cindy D. says:

    Awww! Super cute raccoons. I like them extra poofy like your version! Love the lovebirds, so sweet! So I wonder, are you back to a more regular schedule, in much the same fashion I myself am trying to get back to regular blogging? I think this year is just weird. šŸ™‚

    • Amanda Pollard says:

      Hey Cindy, thank you so much! This year is definitely WEIRD but yes, regular blogging is my eternal quest – although it looks as though you’re making a far better job of that than me just now! As you can see, it’s taken me a whole, shameful 7 days to respond to your lovely comment (and, at that, via mobile on my morning commute…) so I think it’ll be a while before the craziness subsides :/ Loving your copics, as always, and I’ll ‘see’ you at Illustration Friday very soon (if it kills me, dammit!!) X šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

