Send her packing!

I know, I know – there’s been woefully little going on in this inconsequential little corner of t’internet over recent weeks, but just thought I’d shoehorn in this (rather smudgy) small offering for Illustration Friday before last week’s farewell topic is superseded by a fresh, new one today (proverbial 11th hour again…)

IF-Farewell

 

Representative of my forthcoming despatch to Cambridge and the Anglia Ruskin University for an interview to establish whether I might be permitted to abandon the hamster wheel of life for a full year-and-a-half and indulge my illustrative aspirations in the Children’s Book Illustration MA… (squeeeeeee!)

N.B. I have, in fact, missed the IF window for last week’s topic – we’ve already rolled around to the next one (TRIBUTE), but I’ve posted anyway – as a tribute to last week’s submission that never was 😉

About illustratedbyamanda

Illustrator and time-fritterer extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Illustration Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Send her packing!

  1. Oooh you’re applying too!! That’s so exciting! I was so nervous before my interview I nearly fainted, but it was actually just a really nice chat, they are really friendly 🙂 One tip, I don’t know if you have spoken to anyone who’s done the course or had an interview, but they love life drawing, or anything done from life. Also, lots of sketchbook stuff 🙂 Good luck!

    • 🙂 Thanks for the tip, Laura! I think there may be some ‘holes’ in my portfolio in that case, but I’ll certainly bear that in mind. I’m pretty nervous, too (and I’m sure that’ll only get worse as the interview approaches!), but it’d be amazing to be part of the course this year – and I’d love to meet you, too! 🙂 Don’t want to tempt fate/get massively ahead of myself (always a danger!), but are you doing the full-time or part-time course? Thanks for the good luck wishes – I’ll let you know how it goes! x

      • I’m doing it full time, I’m going to move up to Cambridge, but leaving my boyfriend at home in Horsham, so I don’t want to be away for too long! Yeah it’ll be nice to meet you too, it’s strange ‘knowing’ so many people on line, and never meeting some of them!

  2. Miss Beretta says:

    That’s fantastic! I was looking into doing the summer course. Have fun and keep us updated with your progress during the course 😀

    • Thanks Marielle! The summer school is aces – I’d definitely recommend it if you get the opportunity! Love your Hawaiian ladies, btw – having defected from Lancashire to the south, I can’t complain about the climate quite so much these days (*ahem*), but I agree: it is not (yet…?) time for hotpants and super-cropped tees! 🙂

  3. nancydrewit says:

    Hi Amanda,
    Very much enjoy reading your posts. Lovely little sketch today, too! Best wishes with your interview–sounds like a wonderful opportunity. I wish I lived in the UK, as the art schools seem to foster some really talented illustrators, especially with nice ink drawing and washes (or at least it seems that way to someone on the other side of the ocean!). Good luck!

    • Ah, thank you – on all counts!! Very sweet of you. I’m afraid I can’t make any claims to ink and wash skills (although I was given a dip pen and ink set for my birthday in March that I’m itching to take for a ‘spin’!), and hope you find an art establishment closer to you that will really nurture your skills – that, or a super-wealthy benefactor to send you over here! 😉

  4. Nice Character!! 🙂

  5. Hannah Tuohy says:

    Great character! I love those knobby knees!

Leave a Reply

