Superhero Sunday!!

Apropos of nothing in particular – bar, perhaps, the suggestion by a fellow SCBWI-ite at last weekend’s Masterclass that my illustrative style might lend itself to comics/graphic novels (whether said contemporary had genuinely identified an avenue that they felt I might fruitfully pursue, or was merely couching an oft-repeated criticism [? Observation? It has always felt like a criticism, I must say…] – that my characters err inescapably towards the ‘cartoony’ – in gentler, more palatable terms, I care nought…) – I whipped up a few characters in an emphatically-generic graphic-novel style at the weekend, just to, well, see if I could…

No, we don't have small, alarmingly voracious rodents nesting in the studio - I just ripped these pages rather exuberantly from my old sketch book...

No, we don’t have small, alarmingly voracious rodents nesting in the studio – I just ripped these pages rather exuberantly from my old sketch book…

A trio of embarrassingly stereotypical superhero temptresses that look rather like they've been hoiked straight out if some 'futuristic' Sixties Sci-Fi TV serial...

A trio of embarrassingly stereotypical superhero temptresses that look rather like they’ve been hoiked straight out if some ‘futuristic’ Sixties Sci-Fi TV serial…

So, the first two figures are really more studies in superhero anatomy, but I started to make some intimations re. a superhero ‘wardrobe’ in the second page of sketches – I started, as all three seem to be wearing, mainly, just their elastine-heavy undercrackers and accessorising, variously, with FMBs, belts and, er, sic-fi-y weaponry…

Just a bit of a play, really, but I’ll probably have a crack at producing something slightly more original this week, between Cambridge flat-hunting correspondence and preparing my SCBWI Undiscovered Voices entry… Plus, I thought the subject of superheros might segue neatly – albeit criminally tenuously – into a gratuitous mention of the (newly legendary) Andy Murray and his epic battle on Centre Court yesterday, in blistering 30-degree-heat (we’re sallow-skinned creatures on this little Isle, don’t forget!), to finally silence the muttering pessimists and become the first British Wimbledon Champion in 77 years (Woohooo! Go Murray!!).

Back to the sketchbook (I am persevering, despite the above naughty regression to dis-en-bound paper pages – although as the originated from a sketchbook, perhaps I am permitted the interlude under my new ‘sketchbook-it’ rule…?), and a shady corner of the garden (remembering, of course, to lay newspaper beneath the picnic table, so that the pencils that will inevitably roll off are not lost forever in the abyss beneath the decking… *shudder*).

Laterz! 😉 AP x

 

About illustratedbyamanda

Illustrator and time-fritterer extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

