MORE MA sketchbook outpourings (1 of 3 [sorry…])

ADVANCE WARNING: There follows an-already-slightly-mouldering (these are now pretty old drawings…) ‘glut’ of sketchbook-based posts charting my progress/stumble through the last couple of modules of the MA Children’s Book Illustration course, after which I promise a more regular (in terms of frequency) and varied posting service shall resume… Also, many of the images (in this post, particularly) are pretty cringesome – not to mention a little odd (the museum attendant slowly ossifying in the sequence I selected as my main project [idiot…] is not a body of work I’m at all proud of, hence the sparsity of images from the final artwork and general disinclination to discuss it) – but intended merely to illustrate (ha!) the project work we have undertaken and, hopefully, to demonstrate the progress I have made since then… I would, however, not be in the least offended if you decided that this was all a little tedious and enjoined me to get back to some more interesting and engaging work for your ocular amusement, please-thank you.

Meanwhile, if I haven’t already pestered you via some other flavour of social media, please do have a quick nosey of my new website (much tinkering still to be effected, but at least it’s now visible!!) at www.illustratedbyamanda.com

The autumn/winter semester, ‘Sequential Image’ project represented a real challenge, evidenced by the myriad re-workings of a particular storyboard idea (once several others had been rather unceremoniously rejected – not before a couple of agonising weeks attempting to rejig them into something clever/hilarious/logical…) to arrive at something that ‘read’ successfully – a few examples of which are displayed here (amidst a somewhat cacophonous selection of alternative ideas and other random sketchbook pages). You will also note that I haven’t really attempted to use colour at all – that just felt like an element too far in addition to the considerations of pacing, perspective, rhythm, story ‘arc’, page-turn impetus and characterisation that were already making trouble for my as-yet pretty inarticulate illustrator brain (although I wasn’t, ultimately, particularly successful on many of these counts, either…!):

Chip, chip, chipping away...

Chip, chip, chipping away…

...to create THIS monstrosity. Such a waste...

…to create THIS monstrosity. Such a waste…

 

 

 

A second attempt...

A second attempt…

17_BLOG

23_BLOG

An 'it was all a dream - or was it...?!'-type sequence which, of its own accord, seemed to evolve in comic-book panels (a phenomenon perhaps not unrelated to my simultaneous reading of Scott McCloud's excellent UNDERSTANDING COMICS...).

An ‘it was all a dream – or was it…?!’-type sequence which, of its own accord, seemed to evolve in comic-book panels (a phenomenon perhaps not unrelated to my simultaneous reading of Scott McCloud’s excellent UNDERSTANDING COMICS…).

 

19_BLOG

I was very keen for horses to feature win this project, and spent several VERY COLD Saturdays at a riding stables in Walton-on-Thames watching the riding lessons and the rather chaotic life on the yard (where great, fluffy-footed chickens and turning goats also featured!)

20_BLOG

A couple of format ideas, including a zoetrope-type contraption, and a complicated folding poster (I am no paper engineer, it turns out…)

21_BLOG

This is the idea I eventually ran with, although – having admitted in a tutorial that I was wearying of the idea at this very early, developmental stage – I should perhaps have jettisoned it in favour if one of the other ‘sequence concepts’ swirling around my head at the time..

Just to give you an little inkling of the excruciating process of storyboarding, I'm including a handful of the myriad versions this sequence mutated through (somewhere in the region of 10, I think) - and the infinitesimally small changes that separated them, in some cases... (Gah! Even the memory is infuriating!!)

Just to give you an little inkling of the excruciating process of storyboarding, I’m including a handful of the myriad versions this sequence mutated through (somewhere in the region of 10, I think) – and the infinitesimally small changes that separated them, in some cases… (Gah! Even the memory is infuriating!!)

s2_sequential-image-alternative-version-2s2_Sequence_FINALs2_fidget-WT-4s2_fidget-WT-3s2_fidget-WT-2s2_fidget-WT-1s2_petrified-statues2_Page-6-experiment

A double-page spread from the final art worked sequence. Oh, so many errors... *simultaneous cringe/sigh*

A double-page spread from the final art worked sequence. Oh, so many errors… *simultaneous cringe/sigh*

 

 

 

About illustratedbyamanda

Illustrator and time-fritterer extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MORE MA sketchbook outpourings (1 of 3 [sorry…])

  1. Mary Walker says:

    I like the cringe one, I would have loved seeing him enter with a woman who used the bathroom and switch between his wait and her delicate application of makeup. My man could easily turn to stone waiting on me lol

  2. Pingback: MA progress (2 of 3) | amanda's pencil post

  3. Pingback: MA musings (3 of 3) | amanda's pencil post

Leave a Reply

